Photo by Leio McLaren
New York employees may want to think twice before heading to a COVID-19 high-risk state.
Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced Wednesday, along with New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont, that anyone who enters the tri-state region from a state with high coronavirus infection rates must self-quarantine for 14 days.
The move targets travelers in states such as Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah, and Texas.
Violating self-quarantine could result in judicial order and mandatory quarantine. It could also cost you up to $10,000 in fines if you cause harm, according to the new executive order.
But it could cost workers traveling to one of these COVID-19 hotbeds a bit more. If a worker travels to one of the states currently in the hot zone after June 25, the trip makes you ineligible for paid COVID-19 sick leave.
“Employees will forgo their paid sick leave benefits from New York’s COVID-19 paid sick leave law if they engage in non-essential travel to any state that has a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents, or higher than a 10 percent test positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average,” the governor’s office said in a release.
Cuomo expanded paid sick leave benefits for employees back in March, which mandates employers with more than 100 employees to provide at least 14 days of paid sick leave and job protection during the duration of the quarantine. For employers with 10 or fewer employees and a net income of more than $1 million, at least five days and job protection must be offered.
Employees who are sent to these states for work or at their employer’s request are not subject to the sick-leave order, Cuomo said.