South eastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority


Careers at South eastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority

Why work for us

The Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA) is a regional public transportation authority that operates various forms of public transit services—bus, subway and elevated rail, commuter rail, light rail and electric trolleybus—that serve 3.9 million people in five counties in and around Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States. SEPTA also manages construction projects that maintain, replace, and expand infrastructure and rolling stock. SEPTA is the major transit provider for Philadelphia and its suburbs in Delaware, Montgomery, Bucks and Chester counties. SEPTA is a state created authority and the majority of its board is appointed by the five Pennsylvania counties it serves. While several SEPTA commuter rail lines terminate in the nearby states of Delaware and New Jersey, additional service to Philadelphia from those states is provided by other agencies: the PATCO Speedline from Camden County, New Jersey is run by the Delaware River Port Authority, a bi-state agency, New Jersey Transit operates many bus lines and a commuter rail line to Philadelphias Center City; and DART First State runs feeder lines to SEPTA stations in the state of Delaware. SEPTA has the 6th-largest U.S. rapid transit system by ridership, and the 5th largest overall transit system, with about 306.9 million annual unlinked trips. It controls 290 active stations, over 450 miles (720 km) of track,[not verified in body] 2,295 revenue vehicles, and 196 routes. SEPTA also manages Shared-Ride services in Philadelphia and ADA services across the region. These services are operated by third-party contractors.